The Council

The EISCAT Council is the governing body of EISCAT Scientific Association and has an overall responsibility for the activities of the Association. The EISCAT Council governs by a set of rules and the EISCAT Agreement, Statutes and Financial Rules are included in the governing rules and procedures book, the EISCAT BlueBook.

EISCAT has recently been renewing its governing rules. This work is now complete and the EISCAT Agreement has now (May 2017) been signed by most Associates. The new Agreement will become effective at the date of the final signature. You find the new agreement here: BlueBook 2015. The 2015 version includes also an elaborated set of supporting policy documents.

Annual reportsCouncil short reports and other documents can be found under documents, where you can find a document search.

The Council consists of a Delegation of each Associate with a maximum of three persons from each Associate. A Delegation consists of a Delegate and Representatives.

Chairperson and deputy for the period 2017-2018: Prof. Miyaoka (chair) and Prof. Mann (deputy).


Council Group Photo Nov -16
Council Group Photo Nov -16



Council Members as of May 2017

P. R. of China

Dr. Zonghua Ding, Prof. Jian Wu and Prof. Qingsheng Dong (Delegate)


Dr. Satonori Nozawa and Prof. Hiroshi Miyaoka (Delegate)


Prof. Jörg Gumbel and Dr. Tomas Andersson (Delegate)


Prof. Anita Aikio, Prof. Tuija Pulkkinen and Dr. Kati Sulonen (Delegate)


Mr. Lasse Lønnum, Dr. Bjørn Jacobsen (Delegate) and Prof. Ingrid Mann

United Kingdom

Dr. Ian W. McCrea and Dr. Mervyn Freeman (Delegate)



The Committee Members

Two Committees are active in the Association, the Administrative and Finance Committee and the Scientific Oversight Committee.

Administrative and Finance Committee:

Scientific Oversight Committee:

Peoples Republic of China: Dr. Bin Xu

Finland: Ms. Meri Vannas Chairperson

Japan: Mr. Akiyoshi Kojima

Norway: Mr. John Arne Opheim

Sweden: Dr. Magnus Friberg

United Kingdom: Mrs. Anne Kenney

Peoples Republic of China: Dr. Jun Wu

Finland: Dr. Thomas Ulich Chairperson

Japan: Dr. Yasunobu Ogawa

Norway: Prof. Cesar La Hoz

Sweden: Dr. Stephan Buchert

United Kingdom: Dr. Andrew Kavanagh

Plus external members: Dr. Marco Milla, Peru and Dr. Norbert Jakowski, Germany




Council Meetings

The first meeting of Council was held in 1976. The most recent was the 87th meetings where the regular meeting was held in Oxford, UK. Below, a list of meetings starting with the first one held in 1976.

1st 20 Jan 1976 in Kiruna, Sweden

2nd 5 March 1976 in Paris, France

3rd 28-29 April 1976 in Paris, France

4th 2-3 Nov 1976 in Slough, UK

5th 1 feb 1977 in Paris, France

6th 24-25 March 1977 in Tromsø, Norway

7th 12 July 1977 in Hamburg, Germany

8th 22-23 Nov 1977 in Paris, France

9th 24 Feb 1978 in Slough, UK

10th 11-12 May 1978 in Helsinki, Finland

11th 9-10 Nov 1978 in Paris, France

12th 24-25 April 1979 in Oxfordshire, UK

13th 6-7 Nov 1979 in Lindau, Germany

14th 24-25 April 1980 in Paris, France

15th 6-7 November 1980 in Oxfordshire, UK

16th 28-29 April 1981 in Tegernsee, Germany

17th 27 August 1981 in Kiruna, Sweden

18th 5-6 November 1981 in Paris, France

19th 22-23 April 1982 in Tromsø, Norway

20th 4-5 Nov 1982 in Hamburg, Germany

21stÂ12-13 May 1983 in Sodankylä, Finland

22nd 3-4 Nov 1983 in Leicester, UK

23rd 2-3 May 1984 in Stockholm/Uppsala, Sweden

24th 8-9 Nov 1984 in Paris, France

25th 9-10 May 1985 in Tromsø, Norway

26th 7-8 Nov 1985 in Münich, Germany

27th 21 22 May 1986 in Helsinki, Finland

28th 6-7 Nov 1986 in London, UK

29th 12-13 May 1987 in Oulu, Finland

30th 12-13 Nov 1987 in Paris, France

31st 9-10 May 1988 in Lindau, Germany

32nd 10-11 Nov 1988 in Kiruna, Sweden

33rd 9-10 Nov 1989 in Oxfordshire, UK

34th 9-11 May 1990 in Tromsø/Longyearbyen, Norway

35th 8-9 Nov 1990 in Hamburg, Germany

36th 2-3 May 1991 in Grenoble, France

37th 11-12 November 1991 in Helsinki, Finland

38th 20-21 May 1992 in Copenhagen, Denmark

39th 12-13 Nov 1992 in Uppsala, Sweden

40th 20-21 May 1993 in Oslo, Norway

41st 16-17 Nov 1993 in Hamburg, Germany

42nd 19-20 May 1994 in Copenhagen, Denmark

43rd 28-29 Nov 1994 in Windsor, UK

44th 22-23 May 1995 in Hamburg, Germany

45th 28-29 Nov 1995 in Paris, France

46th 20-21 May 1996 in Oslo, Norway

47th 25-26 Nov 1996 in Tromsø, Norway

48th 12-13 May 1997 in Copenhagen, Denmark

49th 17-18 Nov 1997 in Kiruna, Sweden

50th 11-12 May 1998 in London, UK

51st 16-17 Nov 1998 in Paris, France

52nd 10-11 May 1999 in Sigtuna, Sweden

53rd 15-16 Nov 1999 in Tokyo, Japan

54th 15-16 May 2000 in Longyearbyen, Svalbard

55th 30-31 Oct 2000 in Münich, Germany

56th 15 May 2001 in Helsinki, Finland

57th 8-9 Nov 2001 in Knivsta, Sweden

57th-extra 5 Feb 2002 in Copenhagen, Denmark

58th 4-5 June 2002 in Grenoble, France

59th 6-7 Nov 2002 in Abingdon, UK

60th 4-5 June 2003 in Oslo, Norway

61st 11-12 November 2003 in Copenhagen, Denmark

62nd 3-4 June 2004 in Münich, Germany

63rd 4-5 November 2004 in Helsinki, Finland

63rd-extra 1 March 2005 in Oslo, Norway

64th 8-9 June 2005 in Stockholm, Sweden

65th 18-19 October 2005 in Qingdao, China

66th 1-2 June 2006 in Longyearbyen, Svalbard

67th 14-15 November 2006 in Southampton, UK

68th 31 May – 1 June 2007 in Nagoya, Japan

69th 15-16 November 2007 in Helsinki,

70th 27-28 May 2008 in Kiruna, Sweden

70th-extra 4-5 September 2008 in Copenhagen, Denmark

71st 30-31 October 2008 in Kunming, China

72nd 3-4 June 2009 in Berlin, Germany

73rd 27-28 October 2009 in Lillehammer, Norway

73rd-extra 14 December 2009 as Teleconference

74th 3-4 June 2010 in Tokyo, Japan

75th 1-2 November 2010 in Cambridge, UK

76th 31 May – 1 June 2011 in Helsinki, Finland

77th 3-4 November 2011 in Bonn, Germany

78th 29-30 May 2012 in Stockholm, Sweden

79th 5-6 February 2013 in Beijing, China

79b-extra 17 April 2013 in Copenhagen, Denmark

80th 27-28 May 2013 in Oslo, Norway

81st 30-31 October 2013 in Leeds, UK

82nd 10-11 June 2014 in Nagoya, Japan

83rd 6 – 7 November 2014 in Helsinki, Finland

84th 10 – 11 June 2015 in Kiruna, Sweden

85th 3-4 November 2015 in Haikou, Hainan Island, China

86th 1-2 June 2016 in Tromsø, Norway

87th 2-3 November 2016 in Oxford, UK

87th-extra 14 December 2016 as Teleconference

87th-extra2 24 April 2017 as Teleconference

88th 31 May – 1 June 2017, Tokyo, Japan

89th autumn 2017 – Finland

90th spring 2018 – prel. Sweden